University Club Academic Awards

The University Club Merit Scholarship

The University Club Merit Scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding student.

The First Presidential Scholarship

The University Club established its Presidential Scholarship in May 1993 at the request of then present Anthony Catanese. The scholarship is endowed through the Galaxy Endowment, which was the Club’s gift to the FAU Foundation as part of FAU’s first-ever Capital Campaign. The scholarship is given for four years, providing the recipient maintains a 3.0 grade point average. In the 1993-94 academic year, this scholarship was $2,000, with a four-year commitment totaling $8,000. The amount of the scholarship has steadily increased since that time.

The Brogan Presidential Scholarship

In November 2003, The University Club established a second four-year Presidential Scholarship in honor of FAU President Frank T. Brogan’s inauguration. The scholarship, first awarded in fall 2004, is funded through The University Club’s General Scholarship Fund.

The Charles E. Schmidt Memorial Scholarship

Michele Montekio was the recipient of the Charles E. Schmidt Memorial Scholarship from 1996-2001. The scholarship was donated by John and Kathy Temple.

Library Internships and Fellowships

In 2002-03, The University Club sponsored a Library Internship. In March 2005, The University Club awarded $5,000 to FAU Libraries to be used for fellowships for library employees pursuing a master of library science degree. These awards were given for the 2005-06 and 2006-07 academic years.

The Cecile E. Kramer Library Fellowship

Four fellowships, given in memory of Cecile, a former University Club Board member, were awarded for the 2007-08 academic year.

The Sarah Bialy 'College of Nursing' Scholarship

A $4,000 scholarship was awarded by the University Club, in memory of Sarah Bialy, to the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing for a graduate student specializing in geriatrics.

Special Awards

The University Club contributed $5,000 for scholarships to be awarded to five students with financial need for the 2007-08 year.

The FAU Collegiate Support Fund

The Collegiate Support Fund was established to help FAU’s 10 colleges with additional needs.

The Ziegfeld Follies Girls of Florida contributed $50,000 to the University Club in the 2008-09 academic year. Of that contribution, The University Club awarded $20,000 to the College of Education for Early Childhood Development Masters degrees; $15,000 to the Christine Lynn College of Nursing for scholarships and $15,000 to the Wimberly Library.