FAU Band Members Selected for 2013 National Intercollegiate Band

Four FAU students have been selected for the prestigious 75-member 2013 National Intercollegiate Band. This nationwide program is held every two years, with applicants from all over the country. The participants are selected through a rigorous screening process that requires each applicant to submit an audition recording, which then is blind screened by a panel of professional conductors. This year marks the most FAU students ever admitted to the National Intercollegiate Band, with just one being selected in both 2009 and 2011.

The FAU students that were selected include Taiki Azuma (saxophone), Jessica Esposito (flute), Kyle Mechmet (saxophone) and Dylan Sanchez (clarinet). There were also three other members selected to be alternates. These include Jack Hernadez (percussion), Allison Riling (clarinet) and Dana Barker (trumpet).

“I am very proud of these students,” said Kyle Prescott, FAU director of bands. “Their accomplishments do a great deal to spread the word of FAU’s program to the national level, and serve as a good indicator of the strong state of the FAU program in comparison to our own past, as well as to the rest of the nation today.”

The National Intercollegiate Band has provided the music world with the most talented of collegiate band members since it first began in 1933. This year’s ensemble, to be conducted by Anthony Maiello, will give the world premiere of a work composed for this occasion by John Mackey, one of the biggest names in the world of modern band music. They will perform in Springfield, Massachusetts in late July.

For more information about FAU’s Department of Music within the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, call 561-297-3820 or visit www.fau.edu/music.

From left, Kyle Prescott, Taiki Azuma, Kyle Mechmet, Jessica Esposito, Dylan Sanchez and Alison Riling (not pictured: Jack Hernandez, Dana Barker)

Please click here to support the FAU music program.

Comments are closed.