Leadership & Scholarship

>> Borivoje “Borko” Furht, Ph.D., a professor at FAU’s Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director of the National Science Foundation Research Center in FAU’s College of Engineering and Computer Science, was appointed as a member of the prestigious Academia Europaea.

>> Alex M. Azar II, the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services, named María de los Ángeles Ordóñez, DNP, APRN, GNP-BC, PMHNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN, to the Advisory Council on Alzheimer’s Research, Care, and Services; she is the director of the Louis and Anne Green Memory and Wellness Center, operated by the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing.

>> Associate Professor of English Ayse Papatya Bucak’s latest book, “The Trojan War Museum, and Other Stories,” was listed in Oprah Magazine’s “10 August Books You Should Read Right Now” list. Bucak’s collection includes 10 stories that explore the author’s Turkish roots.

>> Ata Sarajedini was named the inaugural Bjorn Lamborn Endowed Chair in Astrophysics, created by legendary FAU physics professor Dr. Bjorn Lamborn, in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. Dr. Sarajedini also became a consultant for PBS’ national astronomy show “Star Gazers.”

>> The College of Business honored Rita and Rick Case of the Rick Case Automotive Group at its 28th annual Business Leaders of the Year breakfast. “Both Rita and Rick are widely recognized as people who are very smart with great business minds but also have big hearts. They’re an amazing couple in business,” said Daniel Gropper, Ph.D., dean of the college.

>> The FAU Alumni Association’s Talon Leadership Awards celebrated this year’s local leaders who have shown outstanding support and service to FAU. From left: Cecilia Mazzone Peters ’90 received the Alumni Talon Award, Christine E. Lynn received the President’s Talon Award, President John Kelly, Mariana Ribiero ’21 received the Student Talon Award, and Myeongsub Kim received the Faculty Talon Award.